Fast Facts:

1. It is a landlocked country in Southern Africa and is the 7th smallest country on the continent.

2. It has two capitals: Mbabane (administrative) and Lobamba (royal and legislative). Mbabane is the largest city.

3. It gained independence from Britain in September 1968.

4. It was formerly named and still is commonly known as Swaziland but was renamed Eswatini in 2018.

5. Major languages: Swazi, English

6. Major ethnic groups: Swazi (84%), Zulu (10%), European (3%)

7. Major religions: Christianity (89%), None (7%), Traditional and other religions (4%)

8. It is Africa’s last absolute monarchy and one of the few in the world. King Mswati III, who assumed the throne at age 18, has ruled Eswatini since 1986.

9. Umhlanga, the reed dance held in August/September, and Incwala, the kingship dance held in December/January, are the nation’s most important events.

10. Sibebe Rock, located near Mbabane, is the largest rock in Africa and the world’s second largest monolith (single piece of rock).

11. Execution Rock is one of its most infamous attractions and according to legend, it was so named because criminals and Swazis suspected of witchcraft were forced to walk off the edge at spear-point, plunging to their death.

12. The Bushfire Festival, one of Africa’s most popular music and arts festivals, is held annually in May.

13. House on Fire, the eclectic Bushfire venue, is a must-see attraction with unique artwork and sculptures adorning the property, coupled with spectacular mountain views. 

14. Things to see and do include: Mantenga Nature Reserve and Falls, Swazi Cultural Village, Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary, Malolotja Nature Reserve, Hlane Royal National Park, House on Fire, Gone Rural, Ngwenya Glass, Swazi Candles Centre, King Sobhuza II Memorial Park, Swaziland National Museum, and a variety of adventure activities, including caving, white water rafting, and zip lining.

Map of Eswatini
Map of Eswatini
Video credit: Eswatini/Swaziland Tourism
Video credit: Displore
Video credit: Yuliy Showreel