Fast Facts:

1. It’s located in Northeast Africa and is the third largest country on the continent.

2. The capital and largest city is Khartoum, where the Blue Nile and White Nile tributaries unite to form the Nile River.

3. Major languages: Arabic and English are official languages and more than 100 native languages are spoken.

4. Major ethnic groups: Arab (70%), Nubians, Zurga, Copts

5. Major religions: Islam (91%), Christianity (6%), Traditional and other religions (3%)

6. It gained independence from Egypt and United Kingdom on January 1, 1956.

7. It was Africa’s largest country until 2011, when South Sudan split and gained independence.

8. Its name means “land of the Blacks” in Arabic and refers to the dark skin of the people.                

9. It has more than 500 miles of coastline with many beaches and beautiful coral reefs.

10. The Red Sea is the lowest point in Sudan and a starting point for scuba diving expeditions, one of the most popular being Jacques Cousteau’s underwater village.

11. It has three UNESCO World Heritage sites: Sanganeb National Park, Meroe pyramids and archeological sites, and Gebel Barkal and Napatan sites.

12. It has the world’s largest collection of pyramids. There are more pyramids in one small section of the northern Sudanese desert than in the whole of Egypt.

13. Sudan has a plethora of historical sites and other attractions, including the Ruins of Kerma (an early Kushite kingdom), Nuri Pyramids, Temple of Soleb, Temple of Amun, Meroe Pyramids, Musawarat Es Sufra Temple, Naqa Temple, Nubian Desert, Jebel Marra mountains, Dinder National Park, as well as the Sudan National Museum, Khartoum Camel Market, and Friday Sufi Gathering in the capital of Khartoum. However, caution is advised due to longstanding conflict in some regions.

Map of Sudan
Map of Sudan
Video credit: City Travel Reviews
Video credit: Patiz TV