Fast Facts:

1. It’s located in East Africa and is the 13th largest country on the continent. It’s comprised of the mainland and the Zanzibar archipelago.

2. The capital is Dodoma and the largest city is Dar es Salaam.

3. In 1964, the mainland, formerly known as Tanganyika, merged with Zanzibar island, and became known as Tanzania.

4. There are more than 120 ethnic groups, the largest being the Sukuma.

5. Major languages: Swahili, Arabic, English

6. Major religions: Christianity (61%), Islam (35%), Traditional and other religions (4%)

7. It is surrounded by three great lakes of Africa – Lake Victoria, Lake Tanganyika, and Lake Malawi.

8. Tourism is a major industry and centers around wildlife, beaches, history, culture, nature, and adventure activities.

9. It has 7 sites on the UNESCO World Heritage List: Kondoa Rock Art sites, Ruins of Kilwa Kisiwani and Ruins of Songo Mnara, Stone Town of Zanzibar, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Selous Game Reserve, Kilimanjaro National Park, and Serengeti National Park.

10. Its most famous national park is the Serengeti, where each year more than one million wildebeests make their great migration to the Masai Mara National Park in Kenya.

11. It’s home to the Ngorongoro Crater, the world’s largest caldera (volcanic depression).

12. Mount Kilimanjaro, located in northeast Tanzania, is the highest peak in Africa and the tallest free-standing mountain in the world.

13. Zanzibar is known for its fabulous beaches and some of the most popular are Nungwi, Kendwa, Paje, Jambiani, Matemwe, and Kiwengwa.

14.  Things to see and do in Zanzibar include: Darajani Market and historic buildings of Stone Town, Forodhani Gardens night market, the Rock restaurant, Kuumbi Caves, Jozani Forest, Seaweed Center, Prison Island, Slave Market Memorial, and spice farms.

Map of Tanzania
Map of Tanzania
Video credit: TravelDotEarth
Video credit: Miss Trudy
Video credit: Yuri Empress