Fast Facts:

1. It is a landlocked country located in East Africa and is the 19th largest country on the continent.

2. Its capital and largest city is Juba.

3. It gained independence from Sudan in 2011 after a long civil war and is the newest sovereign African country.

4. Its flag is older than the country itself and has significant meaning. The black stripe represents the people, the red stripe represents the blood that was spilled to help achieve independence, the green stripe represents the lush lands of the country, the blue triangle represents the Nile River, and the golden star represents the states that have united for South Sudan.

5. Major languages: English (official) and more than 60 indigenous languages, including Utuho, Acholi, Dinka, Jur, Nuer, Zande, and Murle

6. Major ethnic groups: Dinka, Nuer, Zande, Bari, Shilluk

7. Major religions: Christianity (60%), Traditional and other religions (33%), Islam (6%)

8. It has the third-largest oil reserves in Sub-Saharan Africa.

9. The majority of South Sudanese live in Tukels, circular-shaped houses generally constructed from sticks and mud with a thatched roof.

10. Cows are often used as a form of currency and wealth is measured by the number of cattle that a family owns.

11. The White Nile, a main tributary of the Nile River, passes through the country and is one of its principal physical features.

12. Tourism centers around its beautiful natural landscapes and wildlife. Attractions include St. Theresa Cathedral, Mount Kinyeti, Imatung Mountains, Nimule National Park, Boma National Park, Fola Falls, Sudd Wetlands, Opekoloe Island and Nile River rafting. Travel remains risky and caution is advised.

13. Boma National Park is home to Africa’s second largest wildlife migration.

Map of South Sudan
Map of South Sudan
Video credit: City Travel Reviews
Video credit: BOA54