Fast Facts:

1. Seychelles is an African island nation, comprised of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean. There are 42 inner granite islands and 73 outer coral islands.

2. Its capital and largest city is Victoria, situated on Mahé island. 90% of the population lives on Mahé.

3. It’s the smallest sovereign African nation by size and population.

4. Major languages: English, French and Seychellois Creole

5. Major ethnic groups: Seychellois Creoles (mixed race) (93%), British, Indian, Chinese

6. Major religions: Christianity (89%), Hinduism (2%), Islam (2%), Traditional and other (6%), None (1%)

7. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1976.

8. The Seychelles are the world’s only granite islands.

9. The rare Coco de Mer palm tree (aka double coconut tree) grows naturally in only 2 places in the world: Praslin and Curieuse islands. Its large nut can grow to more than 19 inches (50 cm) in diameter and weigh up to 90 pounds.

10. It has 2 UNESCO World Heritage sites: Vallée de Mai, a protected forest, and Aldabra Atoll, the world’s largest coral atoll which is home to more than 150,000 giant tortoises.

11. It is known for its nature reserves, wildlife, hiking trails, water sports, and beautiful beaches.

12. The largest and most popular islands are Mahé, La Digue, and Praslin. Activities there include: Anse Source d’Argent beach, Seychelles National Botanical Gardens, Le Jardin du Roi Spice Garden, Anse Georgette, Anse Intendance, Anse Lazio, Beau Vallon, Anse Volbert, Copolia Trail, Victoria Market, and Shark Bank.

13. Other visited islands include Curieuse, Cousine, Grande Soeur, Petite Soeur, St. Pierre, Silhouette, Denis, Cerf and Fregate.

Map of the Seychelles
Map of the Seychelles
Video credit: Top Tourist Places
Video credit: Displore