Fast Facts:

1. It’s located in southern Africa and it’s the 15th largest country on the continent.

2. Its capital and largest city is Windhoek.

3. Major languages: English, Afrikaans, German, Otjiherero, Khoekhoegowab, Oshiwambo, RuKwangali, Setswana, siLozi       

4. Major ethnic groups: Ovambo (50%), Kavango (9%), Coloureds (8%), Herero (7%), Damara (7%), Whites (7%), Nama (5%), Lozi (3.5%), San (3%), Tswana (1%)

5. Major religions: Christianity (90%), Traditional and other (8.5%), None (1.5%)

6. It gained independence from South Africa in March 1990, following a protracted 24-year war. Prior to South Africa, it was colonized by Germany, which perpetrated a genocide against the Herero and Nama people.

7. It is one of two African countries, along with South Africa, that was subject to apartheid.

8. The name “Namibia” is derived from the Namib Desert, the world’s oldest desert. Some of the tallest sand dunes in the world are found there.

9. It’s the driest country in sub-Saharan Africa and one of the most sparsely populated countries in the world.

10. It is home to some of Africa’s oldest and unique ethnic groups, including the San, Nama, and Himba people.

11. It is home to the world’s second largest canyon, Fish River Canyon.

12. It is a popular tourism destination and has a myriad of activities including wildlife reserves, adventure activities, natural landmarks, historical sites, and cultural

13. Places to visit include the capital city of Windhoek, Caprivi Strip, Fish River Canyon, Sossusvlei and the sand dunes, the Skeleton Coast, Sesriem Canyon, Etosha National Park, Epupa Falls, and the coastal towns of Swakopmund, Walvis Bay and Lüderitz.

Map of Namibia
Map of Namibia
Video credit: Displore
Video credit: Jazzyjon30