Fast Facts:

1. It is located in East Africa and is the 24th largest country on the continent.  

2. Its capital and largest city is Nairobi.

3. The oldest city and first capital is the coastal city of Mombasa.

4.  It is named after Mount Kenya, the highest mountain in Kenya and the 2nd highest in Africa.

5. Major languages: English (official), Swahili (official and national), and 68 traditional languages

6. Major ethnic groups: Kikuyu (17%), Luhya (14%), Kalenjin (13%), Luo (11%), Kamba (10%), Somalis (6%), Kisil (6%), Mijkenda (5%)

7. Major religions: Christianity (85%), Islam (11%), Traditional and other religions (4%)

8. It is home to the Maasai, a group of indigenous people who live in the Maasai Mara National Reserve and who are known for their jumping dance and warrior skills.

9. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in December 1963.

10. The current Kenyan flag, adopted at independence, is full of meaning. The black represents the Kenyan people, red represents blood, green represents natural wealth, white represents peace, and the Maasai shield and spear represent the defense of freedom.

11. It is the third largest economy in sub-Saharan Africa.         

12. It has 60 national parks and game reserves, including Nairobi National Park which is the only national park that exists within a capital city.  

13. Things to do in Nairobi include: the Giraffe Centre, the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, Uhuru Park, the National Museum, Bomas of Kenya, high tea, great restaurants, and nightlife.

14. Tourist attractions include the wildebeest migration at the Masaai Mara; historical mosques and colonial-era forts at Mombasa, Malindi, and Lamu; Mount Kenya; the Great Rift Valley; tea plantations at Kericho; coffee plantations at Thika; and the beaches along the Swahili Coast.

Map of Kenya
Video credit: Magical Kenya
Video credit: Displore